The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that due to less time devotion to the weather and local news on its late night program, they are losing viewers and advertising revenues. The author then jumps to a hasty conclusion that by increasing the time devoted to weather and local news, the advertising revenues and number of viewers will restore to its former levels. This conclusion is based on various holes and assumptions, and therefore requires to be examined further.

Firstly, the author mentions that the show is a late night program. However, he/she fails to mention the specific time at which the show airs. The viewership for primetime (around 9PM or 10PM) will be higher than the shows which are aired at 2AM or 3AM. It is possible that the timings of the show are responsible for the lack of viewers. Therefore, the timings of the show could be shifted to a more suitable time slot to cater to a large audience.

Another reason for the shift in viewers and advertisers could be that competing television channels may be telecasting more entertaining programs than national news. The viewer base is likely to shift to a new, star-studded comedy show rather than national news. This is because people like to relax during late night and they are more likely to watch an entertaining show rather than drab national news, which can be seen at any other time of the day.

The author mentions that the advertisers were local business operators. There may be reasons other than the late night program responsible for the cancellation of advertising contracts. It is possible that there may be a period of economic instability that has caused major losses to the local businesses. This may lead to them not having enough funds to spend on advertising which may have led to the cancellation of contracts.

The author also mentions that most complaints received were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. Here the term "most" is very vague, and does not accurately represent the amount of complaints to lend any substantial support to the argument. The author could include a specific number of complaints received and the number of complaints that were concerned with weather and local news, to further strengthen the argument.

Hence, it is for these reasons that the argument is flawed and needs further examination. The author has to take various variables into account and lend more conclusive evidence in support of the argument. Therefore, the argument is not substantial enough to lead to further allocation of time to weather and local news on the late night program.