The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author's claim in the memorandum is that if the weather and local news program returned to the same format as before, local businesses will resume the contracts they held before. Moreover, there are some complaints about local news programs regarding the national news coverage. If the author strongly believes in these assumptions, he should provide more evidence for them.

First of all, it is stated that viewers complaint about weather and local news, however the author fails to support this assumption with relevant statistics. Viewers may also have changed their preferences over the one-year period. For example, those viewers, who at first were represented by only adults, may now be represented by teenagers whom may not care about the weather and local news as their adult counterparts.

Furthermore, the cancellation of contracts may have happened due to lesser viewer numbers for these programs; thus local businesses do not have an audience and would therefore not benefit financially from these advertisements.

Moreover, restoring the original composition of these news programs may not bring back their viewers, as it was previously mentioned that the demographics of the viewers may have changed. In such a case, changing the program format will not have the desired effect.

Finally, if the author wants to strengthen his argument, he should provided concrete evidence to support his opinions.