The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

This argument has many unsupported assumptions. For one, the manager mentions that most of the complaints received were about weather and local news coverage but fails to mention the quantity. The argument also assumes that there is a connection between the lack of weather and local new coverage, to the decrease in advertising contracts. Finally, there fails to be a concrete argument that increasing weather and local news coverage will increase viewership.

The manager states that the station has received complaints that were mostly concerned with the coverage of weather and local new. But the number of complaints were never given. If there were only a small amount of complaints then it wouldn't accurately represent the feelings of its viewers. Thus it would be unwise to change the late-night news program to cater to the minority while ignoring the majority. In order to strength the argument, the manager should give a number of complaints rather than just the proportion.

It is assumed that the decrease in the local business advertisement is due to the decrease in local news and weather coverage. This fails to account for any other factors that could influence advertising revenues. A reasonable factor could be that the local businesses no longer have the budget necessary for advertisement. This would decrease advertising revenues regardless of the contents during the late-night news program. If there were complaints directly from the local businesses stating that the lack of local and weather coverage was the reasons that they discontinued businesses then their argument would have merit.

At last, as an attempt to attract more views and avoid losing further advertising revenues, the manager suggests a solution to the problem---the program should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. Unfortunately, the solution has no support. If there are not many complaints about the coverage or there are other reasons for the loss of advertising revenues, the proposed solution would have no effect.

For all these reasons, the manager's assumptions and thus solution does not have adequate support.