The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station."Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the comp

The argument proposed by the business manager is not entirely justified. Firstly it could be that over the last one year, local soccer league was played but due to the television focusing on national television, viewers complained about it and these complains would not repeat next year.

Also it is a possibility that over the last year, there was major storm that affected a part of nation but since the weather is fine now and no storms are forecasted, people would be less interested in weather news.

It is also not clear if the complains received were from many viewers or few viewers complaining many times. Hence increasing local news coverage would not substantially attract more viewers.

Further it is not clear about the reason for local businesses to cancel contracts with the company. It could be that they are getting better rates for advertisements at a different television station and changing coverage would not alter their decisions.

Lastly, it does not guarantee that increasing local coverage by compromising national coverage would increase viewership as it could be that people would be more interested in national news next year with coming presidential elections and decreasing national coverage would totally loose the point.

Hence without knowing the above points the argument made by manager is fallacious.