The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time

to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned

with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise

during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order

to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we

should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The argument states here that television station should devout their late night shows for weather and local news. The argument fails to mention several key factors on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this, author reasons that complains for late night shows are mostly for local and weather reports. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides little support for the author's conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, argument readily assumes that complains received from viewers were for local news and weather reports. This is a weak and unsupported assumption made without much solid ground. For instance, there can be possibilities that they do not know the reasons about why it shifted the programs. In this circumstance, obviously there will be doubt in local public's mind about their local television channel. If argument explicitly stated that local news programs and weather reports have better viewing than the national news than it will be much more convincing.

Moreover, argument reasons that local businesses have canceled their sponsorship, because of changing in the late night programs. This again is a weak analogy used by the argument and it do not clearly demonstrate the correct correlation between backing of local businesses and changing in late night shows. For example, there can be possibilities that local businesses do not find late night advertising helpful. If this is the case then it seriously weakens the argument. Argument would have been much more convincing to reader if they have provided more information regarding back out of local businesses.

Finally, argument states that to attract more viewers to late night programs and to avoid losing advertising revenues, they should shift to weather and local news reports. However, careful examination of this statement reveals that it fails to support author's conclusion in several critical factors and raises skeptical questions. For example, how it will be helpful to gain the revenues?, what are the factors will taken into account that will reduce any complains?. Without convincing answer to these questions reader is left with the impression that author's reasoning is more of a wishful thinking rather than substantiate evidence.

In conclusion, argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, argument must provide more clear and concrete information, either by means of substantiate survey or more detailed analysis of complains of viewer and local businesses. Finally, to better evaluate the argument it must provide further information about why television station has shifted their weather and local programs to national news?