The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The argument presented states that there is a need to restore back to its former level the time devoted to weather and local news. The reasons presented for this hypothesis are complaints received from viewers and a fall in the advertising revenues.

The author states that most of the complaints received were with regards to the stations coverage of local and weather news. However, it is not stated in detail what these complaints were about. The argument assumes that these complaints were related to a lack of coverage of local and weather news even though there is no evidence provided in that regard.

Consequently, clear evidence with regards to what the complaints were is required in order to evaluate the argument. If the evidence suggests that the complaints were indeed about the lack of local and weathers news coverage, then it would strengthen the argument provided in the text.

Secondly, the argument states that local businesses cancelled their contracts. However, there is no explicit evidence provided as to why the contracts were cancelled. The argument assumes the reason for cancellation of contracts to be a lack of local and weather news coverage. Therefore, this lack of evidence weakens the argument that to avoid any further advertising revenues, the local and weather news coverage levels must be restored to their former levels.

Overall, the hypothesis provided in the last line of the passage is weak. This is because the reasons provided in the argument are not backed up by conclusive evidence which can justify the stance taken in the whole argument.