The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Editor of the national aeronautics magazine states that, manned space flights is costly and dangerous. Because, the cost of the unmanned space flights is low and risks are also low. Therefore, aeronautics department should plan the unmanned space flights. To get to this conclusion author of the national aeronautics magazine did some assumptions that can be summarized as follows.

First, author says the manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Author thinks that as the spaceship is manned then the astronauts require something to eat on the journey, which increases the cost of the journey. Along with food, the astronauts need some safety equipment and tool to use of the flight. So overall, the cost of the flight increases.

Second, the author also thought that the danger of loss of manpower may be happen under some circumstances, also there might be some recent accidents might be happened during flights.

Third, the author states that the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women. But, for most of the times the manned space flights are even require to repair the space instrument, which cannot be done by the unmanned space ships.

This suggest the author's suggestion is based on the wrong assumptions, therefore , it should be rejected.