The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

From the argument the editor is implying that manned space flight should be replaced by unmanned space flights.This argument can be more elaborated by studying the assumptions considered by the editor.

Manned space flight carries set of professional scientist with it to study the behavior of the universe.So firstly,editor is implying that carrying a human being inside the flight can be full of risk because it may lead to loss of life property. Life should be given more priority than all those research works unless one is absolutely sure about the project. Risking one's life means risking the life of their family, any harm caused to the person can affect their family condition too.

Secondly,editor is implying that carrying a person inside a space flight increases the size of the flight which is considered to be uneconomical. Building a big flight takes more labor work,more cost, more inventory,etc all of this increases the cost of the flight. Along with the size the weight of flight also increases because the person will have to stock all the essential things needed for his/her survival in the space i.e, food,oxygen,clothes,etc. All these things can be dominated by building an unmanned space flight . This flight will obviously be small in size,less in weight and most importantly no risk to life of any person. Scientifically it is said that smaller the size of flight less resistance will be provided by the surrounding which will help it to work efficiently.

Thirdly,so how should such a space flight be built? Can all these operations be automated? As of now we have reduced the cost and weight of flight and even loss of life now is the time for the construction of flight. This flight will include an automated driving system which will be controlled by the authorities sitting in the research center. The path taken by the flight will be fixed and a feedback will be given by the automated flight to the center which will confirm that the path is correct. The flight will be having sensors and probes of different kinds which will help to analyze the environment of the universe. Although,a machine can also sometimes go through some technical problem but all those issues are dominated by all the advantageous provided by it.

In summary editor is implying that if an unmanned flight is being so effective and efficient than a manned flight which is risk free , cost efficient,fully automated,etc then why to risk a person's life. It is not that human's interference is not there, all the activities of the automated flight is under the brisking eye of the authorities in research center. Hence, this century is of automation and more prominent developments!