The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president of the Humana University might not be wrong in thinking that the advent of online education would mitigate the budget deficit problems of the University, but the specifications that he has provided for such a statement is filled with holes that could ultimately lead to the failure of the program and the University as a whole. Firstly, he assumes that the increase in the enrollment at Omni University is primarily due to the online education. The research seems incomplete and rushed and the president seems to have not given much thought to other minute details regarding the program.

The president of the Humana University(HU) assumes that the increase in the enrollment of students in the online degree programs offered by Omni University(OU) is solely because of the advent of online education. The president seems preposterous to make such a conclusion on such insufficient research. Various factors like the appointment of teaching staffs and the quality of education provided by the OU have not been taken into consideration. Moreover, the courses provided by OU, which ultimately, might have led to more enrollment in OU. For instance, the OU could have provided a number of courses but the enrollment in, say, Advanced Physics could be the maximum. The HU might not get sufficient enrollment if such data are not taken into consideration and ultimately may introduce a course which might not entice many students.

The president has stated that there is a 50 percent increase in the number of students enrolling in online education. However, has not taken into consideration enough information regarding the number of students prior to the increase. For instance, if there were 1000 students prior to the increase, then the number of students after increase, i.e. 1500, the president's argument seems justified; however, if there were only 50 students, then the increased number, i.e. 75 is not enough to warrant the introduction of online education in the HU. Hence, due to lack of sufficient research, it is impossible to say that the initiation and active promoting of online degree programs would increase the enrollment significantly.

Moreover, the president accepts that the HU has budget deficits and the introduction of online education degree programs would definitely mean that the budget for the same would have to be obtained in a some other manner. One of the solutions could be to decrease the budget allotted to other degree programs and utilize it for the online education - which ultimately means that there would be serious downgrading of quality in one of the other departments. Had the president acknowledged this fact and stated an acceptable solution, then the above plan might have worked.

While the plan made by the president of the HU could increase the number of enrollment in the university and could ultimately help placate the budget problems, the reasons he has given for such a plan seems preposterous. Had he included the different statistics such as the degree programs offered by the OU, the number of students prior to the increase and after the increase, then his plan would have much more impact when implemented.