The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The argument tries to assert that by promoting online degree programs, the enrollment in the university would increase and the budget deficit due to maintenance costs will decrease. It might be a valid argument if the assumptions in the argument hold true. However, the argument is filled with assumptions, and if the assumptions prove unwarranted, the argument fails. Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.

First of all, the argument assumes that if Omni University was successful in getting many students enrolled in its online degree program, Humana University too would be able to get similar enrollments. Therefore, based on this assumption, Humana University would be able to collect enough tuition and fees from the students in order to counter the budget deficit. However, it is not a certainty that Humana University too would be able to get similar enrollments. Just the availability of online programs cannot ensure that students will join the university. For instance, if there was a certain program that got most students enrolled in Omni and if that program was not available in Humana, then Humana would not be able to enroll many students. Similarly, promotion of the programs and the reputation of the university also affect the chances of getting good enrollment. If Humana could not meet Omni's standards, it would not be able to lure many students. In that case, argument of decreasing budget deficit by getting more students would be void.

Further, the argument also assumes that the decrease in maintenance expenditure at Omni was because of classes being held online. Therefore, the contention of the president of Humana is that by having online classes, maintenance expenditure can be mitigated. While having online classes can be one of the reasons of decrease in Omni's expenditure, we cannot be sure that it was the only reason. For example, if Omni was able to find a contractor that would do the maintenance task at a significantly lower price, the expenditure of Omni would decrease. If reasons similar to this had contributed more for the decreased expenditure, Humana would not be able to significantly decrease its expenses merely by adding online program.

Moreover, another assumption that bigger enrollment would decrease the budget deficit can also be flawed. If expenses increase with increase in number of students, the deficit can also widen. If expenses related to running online programs become more than the earnings from the program the deficit will increase. In that case, the program that is expected to be lucrative will instead cause financial disaster in Humana.

At length, adding online degree programs is an important decision, and various questions have to be analyzed before adapting the suggestion.