The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president of Humana bases his/her argument on the fact that the nearby Omni university has had a 50% incerase in students seeking online degree programs, and therefore, humana too should increase online programs. He/She also reasons that the decrease in cost for building maintainence in Omni is because of more students starting to take online rather than classroom courses and therefore humana should also do so. His argument is riddled with assumptions which can be detrimental for the institution if proved unwarranted.

The first assumption he makes is that 50 percent increase in online students in Omni is a significant increase in student enrollment in Omni. This assumption, however, may not be true. For example, it could be true that Omni had a total enrollment of 15000 students last year and only 100 were online students. If there was a increase of 50 percent, then there will be 150 students, which is non even comparable to the student population of 15000. Hence, it is not guarenteed that 50 percent increase in online student guarentees a significant increase in the general student population. The president, however, assumes that 50 percent increase is a significant enough to change the population dynamics of Omni, and therefore, Humana should also strive for such increase.

Along with the possibility of 50 percent increase not being significant, it may also be true that the increase may not have to do with Omni's specific attention to online programs. One cannot write out the possibility of Omni decreasing tuition fees or hiring better professors, both of which do not have direct connection to expansion of online programs. However, in both cases, the enrollment in Omni is expected to increase. Hence, it is important to know whether the general enrollment in Omni increased by introduction of something new or just the enrollment in online programs increased. The president's argument does not negate the fact that there were no other changes and simply assumes that the increase was solely because of the expansion of online programs.

Finally, while it may be true that the expansion of online programs lead to Omni's reduced building maintainence cost, this reduction can be a result of other factors as well. For instance, if Omni had decided to use more durable materials three years ago, it is obvious that the maintainece cost for the next three years would decrease. In this case, the reduction in the cost would have nothing to do with the online program. Despite the fact that this or other similar scenarios may prove true, the presidet's argument seems to neglect this possibility. His arguement simply supposes that the decrease in maintainence cost at Humana is merely because student are favoring online classes over on-campus classes.

While the president's assumptions might turn out true and the switch Humana does following the presidents advice may turn to be profitable to Humana, it might also be that the assumption may prove to be false. In this case, there will be, rather, a huge loss to the university as there will be less seats for on-campus classes and there will be more empty seats for online classes.