The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument concludes that building a golf course and a resort hotel in Hopewell would boost the economy of the town which is based on an analogy with the neighbouring town of Ocean View.While the argument may look self satisfying,it is filled with assumptions and holes which are not specified clearly.

First of all,there is nothing mentioned about the tourism in Hopewell,whether it is also a popular place like Ocean View or not. Building a resort in a popular tourist destination(like a historic place or a place with scenic beauty) may improve the economy by creating new jobs for the locals(most of which in case of a resort are management related) but that wouldn't help if Hopewell wasn't a well known place.Investing a large amount of money into risky areas by the municipality could be negative also.

Secondly ,golf courses and resorts are both a luxury and cannot be afforded by all .The argument states that tourism in Ocean View has increased but it is unlikely that it would increase by a large share only due to these factors.Maybe better climate in the past two years,better connectivity, or any other factors may have led to an increase in the tourists.Also,nearby a golf course(which is a royal sport with clubs and a huge membership cost) or a resort (which is also not a general public place) what new businesses could have opened?The increase in tax revenues could be justified by these amenities but that also not by such a huge percentage.

A tourist who wants relaxation and is not short of money can come to Ocean View for his purpose ,however a common man wouldn't do so.

If the above mentioned assumptions and more were specified elaborately in the argument then it would be more persuasive,but in its present condition the argument is not that convincing.