The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation that Monarch should open a cafe by discontinuing the children's books section doesn't seems to be a prudent decision. The various points suggested by Board are rife with flaws and proper evidence is needed to justify each of the argument which are taken as basis for the decision.

First, board of directors Monarch is having the business of books since past 20 years and is known for his eclectic selection of books. Also, since he is having good customer base so it will aid in promoting his cafe too. However, Monarch's success in the business of books cannot be taken as a face value to start his new cafe. There is no such evidence provided by the board that whether he is having any experience in running cafe or not. If and only if, he is having some experience of the same then it generates one reason to support the decision but if he has no prior experience then this decision may prove detrimental to his profits and revenues. Also, people if dissatisfied from his cafe can even turn to some other shops for book purchase as well which in turn will further exacerbate his current business.

Also, Board of director used the recent National census data to conclude that since there is significant decline in the percentage of population under ten so, shutting down the children's section is a good option. Nevertheless, there is no evidence that population of children under ten has declines in the place where Monarch dwells and if it has declined then what is the percentage. Also, is this drop in his place significant enough to close the children's section ? Unless, board of directors do not provide facts and figures pertaining to these questions, reaching to any conclusion will not be good. Also, since the trend in decline in population of children under ten is observed recently we vividly don't have any answers about the upcoming years. Hence, only after observing that children's section selling is not upto a certain benchmark, it is good to shut down the same.

Furthermore, Board of directors claims that opening a cafe will allow Monarch to better compete with Regal books, who also has just opened a cafe. Here also, there are facts presented about the background of Regal books owner. Does he have any experience in the field of running cafe ? How is the customer base of Regal in comparison to Monarch ? So, if Regal book's owner turned out to be a person who has owned several good cafe's in the past then Regal's cafe will have more propitious signs of beating the Monarch's cafe.

Additionally, there is no mention of the presence of the other cafe's in the region nearby to Monarch's bookstore. What if there are already well-established cafes there? What if those cafe are already very reasonable ? So, if this is the situation then opening cafe in the store is apparently not a good decision.

In a nutshell, all the questions presented above cast doubt on the decision suggested by the board of directors. So, unless answers to all these questions aren't known and we don't have any concrete evidences favoring the opening of cafe in store by shutting down the children's section, it will not be wise to reach to any point.