The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

While the argument seems convincing, there are few things that are left uncertain like whether the students who participated in the survey had the same ambition for the college's growth as the faculty, the number of alumnae who voted for coeducation and support regularly support the college financially and the validity of the survey.

The argument is contingent upon the survey conducted by the student government, but it is not stated if the students gave a reason for their opinion. This is significant if the students who opposed for coeducation have reasons that is not germane with the development of the college then their opinion may be due to their personal reasons. In this case, the administrative staff of the college must underscore the vote of the faculty members than the survey results as the faculty members voted in the favor of coeducation because of the fact that it can attract a greater number of students which can be beneficial for the college. Hence, this is a significant factor to evaluate the argument.

The administrative staff makes the decision to keep the college all female is based on the fact that over half of the alumnae who participate in a different survey opposed coeducation and that the decision can convince them to keep supporting the college financially, but the number of alumnae who supported the college financially among the ones who voted against the coeducation is not stated. This is essential to evaluate the argument as if majority of the alumnae who supported the college financially in the earlier years, voted for the coeducation, then the administrative's decision to keep the college all female will not convince the alumnae to keep financially supporting the college. Hence, in this case, the argument will be unreasonable.

The argument also depends upon two surveys conducted on a different set of students but the authenticity of the survey is not mentioned. Most people take the surveys with a frivolous attitude. They do not intend to provide inputs through a survey conducted casually. In order for a survey to be effective, the people must be informed with the purpose the survey and they must be made to feel connected with the cause, to get efficacious results. If the survey is instead conducted in a frivolous and casual tone, then people will also participate with the same tone. Hence, the validity of the survey is essential in deciding whether the recommendation is reasonable or not.

Hence, the above points needs to be elucidated in order to evaluate the argument.