The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee.

"We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rather than admit men into its programs. It is true that a majority of faculty members voted in favor of coeducation, arguing that it would encourage more students to apply to Grove. But 80 percent of the students responding to a survey conducted by the student government wanted the school to remain all female, and over half of the alumnae who answered a separate survey also opposed coeducation. Keeping the college all female will improve morale among students and convince alumnae to keep supporting the college financially."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The president and administrative staff of Grove College recommends to follow the old tradition of admiting females into their programs rather than males. However the above assumption are unwarranted due to many reasons, which are listed below.

First of all, The authorities denies the majority of faculty members who think that coeducation will attract the number of students to apply to Grove, It may be true because the younsters are attracted towards the opposite sex. And thus more number of students will aplply to Grove. And coeducation also helps the students how to act garrulous among his/her colleagues, Neighbours in their workplace or society. Incase of segregation in colleges students may feel bored, loneliness and fear against the opposite sex.

Secondly, According to the survey by student government it suggest female education is better. But it doesnot provide any data about the people whom they surveyed. The mindset of people is not the same in different age bars. If the survey is done among youngsters then the reults will be reciprocal of what obtained. The scholarly aged people may think that segregation will increase their concentration towards what they are learning. Thus the argument is not convincing enough.

Finally, This decision is made by the survey and the alumnae, they didn't interviewed the views of the students in their college. Meanwhile they believe that to bolster financial support from alumnae the wish to keep their traditional culture. But the minority of alumnae who support coeducation may be rich enough to support the financial crisis. Thus this deficiency of suvery among their own students and the wealth of alumnae is not strong enough to support the argument.

To sum up, the recommendations by the president and administrative staff may not results in what they are trying to achieve due to the above stated assumptions. Thus without answering these questions these assumptions cannot be implemented.