The following report appeared in the newsletter of GoldenAge Independent and Assisted Living Facilities for Seniors.

"A novel therapy has come to our attention that promises to significantly decrease the incidence of dementia in our aging community. According to a 21-year study led by the Albert Einstein College of Medicine and funded by the National Institute on Aging, while many physical activities like playing tennis or golf, swimming, bicycling, dancing, and walking for exercise provided cardiovascular benefits for seniors, only one physical activity offered protection against dementia: that was frequent dancing. At GoldenAge we currently provide residents with extensive recreational facilities. These include tennis courts, a fitness center, and lap pools in each senior apartment complex. However, we have no dance studio space at GoldenAge, nor any social dance programs.

Clearly, social dancing can prevent or delay the onset of dementia. Since the onset of dementia inevitably signals the imminent move of residents from our independent living apartments to the more heavily staffed and therefore more costly to operate assisted living quarters, we recommend the establishment of social dance programs at all GoldenAge senior residences—as a cost-effective, positive way to ward off dementia and enable our residents to remain in their independent living quarters."

Respond by writing an essay in which you discuss the specific evidence you would need to judge the validity of the argument and explain how this evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the argument appeared inthe newsletter of GoldenAge Independent and Assited Living Facilities for Seniors, author introduces us with the novel therapy for the prevention or delay of dementia. It was stated that a study of 21-year at Albert Einstein college of Medicine and funded by the National Institute on Ageing that frequent dancing offered the best protection against dementia. Thus author recommends to establish the socisl dance programs at all Goldenage senior residences. This arguments has many holes and assumptions which makes it a failure to expatiate its opinion.

First and foremost assumption that social dancing will prevent the onset of dementia. This is totally wrong statement. Though the study was held for 21-year, but how can one rely on that report when it lacks the statistics and evidences for that research? When was the study exactly been done? It may happen that within 21 years this report are done much earlier and now the senerio can change. In the research it surly have use some technique by which the examined that physical activities other that frequent dancing are benefitting the cardiovascular diseases. Hence the argument need the evidences to bolster the assumption and statement.

Secondly, social dancing is the activity which mostly left for the young generation and here the report says that seniors should get involve in such activity. Isn't it difficult to make up their mind for this? Then question arises how would they support the social programmes? Would it be possible that they would not move their recidence from independent living appartment to the expensive operated assited living quarters?

Finally, we should also let them to get involve in our discussion on prevention of dementia. Possibly we make get to know what exactly they need.