The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

The assumptions of the author a report in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council wroten in his memo about the use of Ichthaid is a good approach for prevent from getting cold and being absenteeism. The author ignores important information and some question needed to be answered in order to decide the recommendation to have the predicted results.

First, the author provides no assurance that the reports which the argument depends are reliable. Indeed, the author does not mention information about the number of the respondents, their age, and their profile. It is entirely possible the survey’s respondents are not representative of overall population of the people live in nearby East Meria, because the survey was done with limited area, or a special career. In addition, the number of people, who participated in this survey may was too low to ensure that the survey results are right.

Second, the author relies on the assumption that people who lives in nearby East Meria was low get cold and few absenteeism from works because of the fish consumption. Nevertheless, people, who live in this region, have strong body because they do regular physical activities. In addition, people work in the factories that its manager does not allow them to be more absenteeism, even though they get cold. Without considering these possible scenarios, the author’s conclusion cannot be acceptable.

In the third place, the author cites these people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for treatment of cold, so people get less cold. However, it is not necessarily the case. The lack of doctors in this region cause people can not visit them more than once or twice per year. So, the argument relies on the limited information, I can not take the author’s conclusion seriously.

Finally, base on the fact the consumption of fish is useful for preventing cold, the author infers that Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—can be beneficial. Although common sense informs me that this relationship exists, the author must provide clear information of it. In fact, it is entirely possible the fish have a special material that it prevents of colds, while this material is not on the oil of fishes.

In sum, the argument is logically rationally and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the argument, the author must provide clear information that a survey reflects of the general population. In order to evaluate recommendation, we need more information about all effective factors lead people to less visit doctors. In addition, it would be better to know more information about Ichthaid’s impacts on people who get cold.