The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The newsletter recommends daily consumption of Ichthaid, to reduce cold among people of West Meria. This in turn will aid in reducing absenteeism in schools and workplaces. Further, to bolster its claim, the newsletter furnishes, example of East Meria where high consumption of fish has resulted in few people visiting the doctor. Though the claim seems quite perfect at the first glance as it aims to reduce absenteeism by eliminating the factor responsible for it, but on closer consideration, the argument is rife with assumptions and fails to provide sufficient proof for those assumptions. The argument stated in this way makes a weak case and needs further re-evaluation and research.

The first evidence that would help us in evaluating the plan is the comparison between the lifestyle and body of West and East Meria. The argument assumes that the nutrients which had a positive impact on people of East Meria will have a similar impact on the people of West Meria. If we are to find evidences that the lifestyle of residents of West Meria is quite different from East Meria and their body will not respond in a similar way to the nutrients. The inhabitants of West Meria might already be consuming the nutrients available in fishes in some other form and they are lacking in order nutrients leading them to fall ill. If this is the case, the more consumption of fish nutrients would not help and will certainly weaken the claim. To bolster his claim, the Public Health Council must carry out a proper investigation and research identifying the nutrients missing in West Meria inhabitants.

In addition to this, the argument relies on a report where it is claimed that East Meria people visit doctors only once or twice a year. Though, no evidence supporting the report has been provided. If we were to learn that East Meria people usually treat their cold at home and believe in home remedies rather than visiting a doctor. They only visit a doctor when the cold gets prolonged and is not alleviating by home remedies. The entire argument fails as the report will then not be a proper presentation for the actual figure of people who suffered from cold in East Meria. If the author had explicitly mentioned that all the colds were reported then it would have helped in evaluating the claim.

Moreover, the argument assumes that people of West Meria are sick and are not using cold as an excuse to escape work. The West Meria inhabitants might be quite lazy and they usually come up with the excuse of cold to get a day off or engage in some personal activities. It is essential that probing research is carried out in which the actual reason for absenteeism is studied. For, the proper evaluation of the claim it is required that the nature of West Meria inhabitants is studied. It needs to be established that they are free of mendacity and take off from work only under emergency conditions.

To sum up, the newsletter recommendation might have its merit but without proper evaluation and research, the recommendation can not be adopted at this stage. The author needs to further clarify the similarity between East and West Meria inhabitants and provide us with the authenticity of the report. He also needs to dwell deeper into the real cause of absenteeism. The answers to these questions will help us in further supporting the recommendation.