The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Silver Screen Movie Production Company.

According to a recent report from our marketing department, fewer people attended movies produced by Silver Screen during the past year than in any other year.

And yet the percentage of generally favorable comments by movie reviewers about specific Silver Screen movies actually increased during this period.

Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers; so the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available.

Silver Screen should therefore spend more of its budget next year on reaching the public through advertising and less on producing new movies.

The director in the memo analysis the situation of fewer attendance of the Super Screen and recommends that it should pay more attention to the advertising to attract more people to see the movie.

The first question concering the evaluation of the recommodation is the number of movies Super Screen (SS) produced last year. The director imputes the fewer attendance of movies to the bad advertisements, which might not be the case if SS actually produced fewer movies last year and attract more audiences in each of them. For instance, if SS produced only 3 movies last year, then the attendance fewer than any of the other years when SS produced more than 10 movies per year would not be striking at all. In this scenario, the problem would not exist and the recommendation would be less convincing.

Granted that the average attendance for each movie did decrease last year, the recommondation cannot be warranted unless the answer to the question whether public have good aware of the quality of the movie. The director in the memo only deduces that people should not realize that since the qualities of the movies increase according to the positive comments from the movie reviewers. In the argument, the director makes an unwarranted assumption that the movie attracting expert reviews should attract the whole public. It might be false since the general public may be aware of the positive feedback of the movie critics, but simply do not want to spend their money to see the movie of SS in the cinema because they do not relish the genre of documentary, which is most of movies produced by SS last year, or the contents are too profund to understand and not exciting. Under those circumstances, the recommendation would not be likely to work since the lack of awarness if not the primary reason that the prospective public do not see the movies.

Another question associated with the evaluation of the recommendation is that whether ot not the better alternatives exist. The author assume that SS should allocate greater amount of budget to appeal more views, where he assumes that SS has the ability to do so. Suppose that SS has faced a financial constraint period, it might not be feasible to put the policy into practice. On the other hand, there might be some more accessible methods to attract more attendances. For instance, SS could try to decrease the price of the tickets, or offer free or discounted tickets to students and senior citizens, or turn their future production into genres more accesible to the general public. The director should answer the question that why those methods could not work, or worse than the recommendation in his memo to fully convince that the superiority of his suggestions.

What is more, the recommendation that SS should increase its advertising budget comes from the director of advertising department, to fully convince his suggestions, a third party who is disintereted is necessary. To sum up, the recommendation would be better evaluated if the author could provide more information about the attendance, the reason for the fewer attendance (if it is true) and the comparison between his recommendation and other possible alternatives.