The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie production company believes that increasing the

amount of advertising the company does will in crease the amount of people attending Super Screen

produced movies. He believes this because during the past year fewer people than ever before

attended Super Screen produced movies, yet the percentage of positive reviews about specific

Super Screen produced movies increased over the past year. Ostensibly the extra advertising would

tout the good reviews writ ten about Super Screen movies. Before this plan is implemented, however,

Super Screen needs to address some questions about its possible flaws.

First of all, the company needs to ask what the actual number of people attending its movies as

compared to the movies of other production companies is. The number of people going to movies may

have been in universal decline. If this is the case and more people are going to see Super Screen

Movies than the movies of any other production company, advertising about how fun it is to go to

the movie theater may do more to boost Super Screen viewership than advertising promoting its own

good reviews. Secondly, the company needs to ask what the actual original number of positive

reviews was. If Super Screen movies recieved 1% positive reviews last year and this year they

recieved 2% positive reviews, getting that message to viewers is not going to increase Super Screen

attendence. Making better movies would be much more likely to increase attendence rates.

Finally, Super Screen needs to ask what the relationship is between its viewers and the movie

reviewers cited in the memo. Using a survey distributed to its target audience, Super Screen could

determine if movie reviews have an effect on their audience’s decision to go see a movie, whether

movie reviewers tended to have the same taste as the target audience and exactly whether or not

movie reviews are reaching the audience. Super Screen also needs to consider how its movie choices

have affected the separate movie reviewer and audience populations. If the studio has switched from

making mega blockbuster action movies to more nuanced dramas, the general public may be less

willing to go see their movies even though movie critics prefer the dramas to the action

movies.

Finally the studio must ask whether the percentage of positive reviews is really a relevant way to

measure the potential impact of movie reviews. There are dozens of movie reviewers but when

deciding whether to not to go to a movie, the general public will usually pick from among the 10

most popular movie reviews. These are the reviews that will impress the public if they are included

in advertising. If the most popular movie reviewers disliked Super Screen movies that a larger

number of small time film bloggers reviewed positively, Super Screen needs to think of a new

advertising strategy.

In conclusion, there are many questions Super Screen needs to answer before using this

advertising director’s plan. They need to look carefully at actual numbers, both of viewership and of

positive reviews. The also need to identify the relationship that their target audience has with

movie reviewers and determine how their target audience feels about their movies. Fianlly they

need to take a nuanced look at the movie reviews that they use in their advertising.