The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."Based on a survey conducted by their own marketing department and certain comments by some reviewers, the director made flawed reasoning and drew unconvincing conclusions about the problems responsible for their shrinking market.

According to Super Screen Movie Production Company (SSMPC), there have been a decrease of movie attenders over the past several years. The advertising director released a statement that the company needs to focus on increasing advertisement budgets to increase profits again. Although their assumptions are plausible, not provide enough information to support the recommendation of increasing the advertisement budget.

Over the past years, how much of the viewers decrease? The director states that 'fewer people' and that does not sound that much in numbers. A few could be three to five and that would be unreasonable to increase the budget to gain those few viewers back. The director's choice of word could have been better; they should have said countless or suffered an extreme lost of viewers. The director also needs to disclose exactly how many people have watched each SSMPC movie in a chart or figure so we could have a better understanding of the decrease in viewers The director obviously has a report from the marketing department and therefore, needs to share the data with everyone reading the memo as well. Using vague terms, like few or couple, does not allow the reader to understand to what degree of lost they are expericing.

With fewer people viewing these movies, exactly how many people are review these movies? The memo states there have a been a lost of viewers; perhaps, the negative reviewers have decided not to watch or review any more of their contents? This is a plausible reason as to how their percentage of positive reviews have increased. There is not less people reviewing with negative remarks and only positive reviews are left with a small amount of total reviews. Again, the director needs to provide more background on the specfic numbers of how many reviewers there are along with the counts of positive and negative reviews. The lack of viewers and several positive reviews could possibly be the reason why people don't want to see SSMPC movies.

People are always searching online and basing their purchases on reviews, particularly ones with a great number of them. How exactly are SSMPC advertising their movies? With the internet, many people are aware of all sorts of movies, small and big budget films. It would be naive to say that the public is unaware is not being exposed enough to their movies. What if the lost movie goers lost their trust in the company because their movies are actually poor quality and it's not worth watching? The public can easily obtain information all over the internet or television, especailly when something is good.

The advertising director did not provide enough supporting data and background information as to justify his assumptions. There were too many vague notions and blank holes that left the reader requiring more to agree with his recommendation. The director needs to followup with more information if he wants to approval on increasing his advertising budget.