The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument presents a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. He has provided us with the information that the positive reviews from the reviewers have increased in the past year despite the decrese in the number of movie goers. He has concluded that the reason for the decline in the number of people attending the Super Screen-produced movies is a result of the reviews not reaching the public. Consequently, leading him to conclude that he should allocate greater share of budget to advertising. In presenting his argument the advertising director fails to answer some questions, thus leading to doubt the plausibility of his hypothesis.

The memo begins with the mention of a recent report from the marketing department which states that fewer people attended the Super Screen produced movies than any other year. But the director fails to provide any statistics to support this claim. What if the survey was not carried out properly? Even though it was, what is the actual number of people who attended the movies this year and how much decline has occured? Was it substantial enough to think about allocating a greater budget to advertising? Are there any other reasons that could have led to the decline? Like has the entertainment budget increased thereby increasing the rates of the tickets, thus prohibiting people from attending movies?

The director then tells us that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers has increased. And then he concludes that the contents of reviews are not reaching public. The director director has made an implicit assumption that if the people become cognizant of the positive reviews, it will motivate them to go for movies. So the director should first verify if the reviews are reaching the public. If yes, then there can be definitely some other reasons prohibiting them from reaching the theatres.

Positive reviews also does not necessarily imply that the movies are of extremely good quality, and that there is no scope for improvement.

So the director should have made his memo more persuasive by answering questions about the quality of the report, the information of the awareness of the public about the reviews. Also what factors other than reviews play a role in inspiring the people in going to theatre. Answering them wo