The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As per the recent report from the marketing department of Super Screen Movie Production Company, fewer people attended their movies than in the previous years. But the percentage of positive reviews about their movies seems to have increased over the last year. Thus, the advertising director concludes that these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers and the problem does not lie with the quality of the movies produced and instead with the lack of awareness about these movies in the general public. He then recommends that the company should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to advertising their movies. Though the conclusion seems logical and appropriate, there are certain questions that need to be answered to decide if the recommendation is reasonable.

Firstly, it needs to determined if there are any other reasons for the lower number of visitors to the movies. Is it only with Super Screen produced movies or is it a general trend? It could be possible that the country is reeling under a economical crisis and the people are not willing to spend their money on cinema and thus the theatres all over the country witnessed a lower audience. On the other hand, the company might have increased the ticket prices for the movies due to which the people were reluctant to watch their movies at the theatres. If there are any such causes for the decline, merely advertising the movies more wouldn't solve the problem and the proposed recommendation is unlikely to produce the intended effect.

Another important question that needs to be asked is: are the movies produced by Super Screen this year catering to a large audience? It might be the case that they produced movies that are of interest to a very small section of the movie-going public-perhaps immensely violent movies, movies for very young children, a documentary or deeply scientific movies. Movies produced on arcane subject matters generally fail to draw large number of people to the theatres. The movies might have been terrifically made, gathering good reviews as mentioned, but simply did not appeal to the interests of all kinds of audience and thus resulted in the decline in the number of viewers.

Though it is mentioned that the percentage of positive reviews increased, it is not mentioned about the credibiliy of these reviewers. People in general, follow the opinion of acclaimed critics in popular websites or media before watching a movie. So the question that pops up is that how many of these positive reviews were from such popular critics? Possibly, many such critics reviewed the movie negatively, and a large number of the positive reviews were from few sections of the public which found it appealing. In such a scenario, the negative reviews from mainstream critics made the public turn away from the movies. Increased advertising would no way change the opinion of these critics and compensate for the poor quality of movies.

Therefore, the advertising director's recommendation cannot be taken for granted since it doesn not address the potential flaws in the argument. The company has to determine if there are any other causes for the decline in audience before blaming it on lack of advertising. They have to take a closer look at the content of the movies to see if they are appealing enough to a large section of the public. They also have to find out if the positive reviews were from prominent critics.