The following was a memorandum by the campaign manger for a state senate candidate:

“Contributers to nearly every major blog in the state, both democratic and republican, agree that a proposal to increase

tolls on the major highways going through our state is a good thing. They don’t all agree that the increased revenue should go towards the same thing Some say we need more technology in the schools, others favor subsidizing insurance for the unemployed and independent contractors, and some say it should just be used to cut income tax. However, they all agree that the tolls should go up. Certainly this will cause more commuters to take public transportation, encourage businesses to ship by rail rather than truck, and save on road maintenance fees. Our chief competitor, who accepts major contributions from the trucking companies, opposes the toll increase. We should, therefore, come out strongly in favor of it.”

The author of the memorandum issues a number of arguments in favour of the claim. However, these arguments are insubstantial and presents a number of questions that need to answered in order to strengthen the case presented. Additional information regarding the index of increase in revenue and the validity of the claim need to examined inorder to determine whether the suggestion will provide the predicted result.

Firstly, the conclusion is based on the premise that all major blogs support the increase in tolls on major highways. However, the no assurance is provided on the precision and integrity of this premise. It is possible that these major bloggers were bribed to support the cause. Alternatively, only selected major blogs might have been considered while analyzing the situation. Also, a greater portion the supporting democratic and republican bloggers might have been considered while surveying. Hence, it is unsafe to entirely believe in this evidence without knowing additional information related to the ratio of supporters to non-supporters and the number of blogs considered.

Secondly, considering only blogs are the source to support such a drastic action is not justifiable. The bloggers cannot be a representation of the entire population of the state. Also, even thought the bloggers support for an increase in revenue, it is not necessary that they expect a huge increase. Since no mention about the index is mentioned, the support of the bloggers can be assumed to be one without proper knowledge on the cause. The bloggers might expect a much lesser increase than the once the government might present. This lack of clarity in the evidence provided makes the conclusion unsound.

Thirdly, the author states that an increase in tolls would promote certain events like greater public transport utilization and decrease road maintenance fees. However, this brings forward many questions. Will majority of the public prefer public transportation over increased toll rates? There is the possibility that the public might divert to highways with lesser tolls rather than use public transport. Also, the public transportation might not be accessible in all regions at all times. It is also not necessary that the increase in toll rates could save road maintenance costs. What revenue it saves on road maintenance could be put into use for improving public transport or introducing toll booths. Also the author states that the competitor opposes toll increase as it receives major contributions from trucking companies. However, this claim is not substantiated with proper evidence and can be viewed as a biased opinion.

To sum, the author does not provide strong evidence to support his claim and hence the arguments provided are unconvincing thereby rushing into an unjustifiable conclusion. Therefore, additional information regarding the situation at hand needs to analyzed inorder to arrive at a sound and solid conclusion.