The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation."To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into majo

The following argument is flawed due to numerous reasons. Primarily based on the fact that advertising is sufficient for the sale of the new line of coffee. Rendering its conclusion, that their strategy will be sufficient to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee, invalid.

The argument "hopes" that word of mouth will be sufficient to sustain sales. The argument uses vague language to draw its conclusion. There is no evidence supporting the fact that word of mouth is sufficient to sustain the sales in the supermarket. The argument is using a factor of luck in drawing in its conclusion, it did not consider the fact that if word of mouth is not sufficient to sustain the sale, then how will they sell the coffee. Had the argument provided solid evidence stating that the coffee will be successful in sustaining sales would have made the conclusion stronger.

The argument makes an unwarranted assumption that advertising of the coffee in television and radio will make the major chain restaurant buy their coffee. There is no relation between the restaurant chain and the advertising campaign. The restaurants may watch the advertiser and still decide to reject their coffee. The restaurants may not like the coffee because the coffee they already use is better in quality or cheaper than the "Gourmet select". Had the argument the presented a direct relation between the advertising campaign and the major chain restaurants, even then, how what are the responses from the restaurants about the coffee would be required by the argument to make a conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed due to the above-mentioned reasons and therefore fails to make a convincing conclusion. It could have been strong if the above-mentioned assumptions were explicitly stated.