The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this application, a group of developers recommend to set up a new jazz club in Monore. To support their claim, they cites that the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away. Additionally, a series of evidence are presented to prove the jazz's popularity in local resident. Furthermore, a nationwide study is quoted to indicate that there exists a mass of jazz fans to spend huge money on jazz entertainment per year. While the developers' conclusion seems convincing at glimpse, a closer scrutiny reveal that such conclusion lacks crucial evidence and we need more evidence to evaluate the validity of their recommendation.

To start off, we need more evidence to prove whether such new club could easily attract all customers in local. While this application shows that the nearest jazz club is still 65 miles away, no evidence serves to rule out the probability that people from Monore still prefer to there in the face of new club open in downtown. Thus, additional evidence would gain great significance to determine whether the outside old club owns several advantages that overshadow the distance disadvantage, such as an agreeable environment, advanced equipment and more support from famous jazz musician. If new evidence shows that the old club outstrips the new one in many respects, it's suitable for us to believe that people are still inclined to go outside, rather than to choose the downtown location, and therefore the developers' viewpoint would be weakened. On the contrary, if new evidence reveal the opposite situation, the developers' recommendation would be lend great support to.

Moreover, more evidence is required to ascertain whether the jazz is extremely popular in Monore. Firstly, while the number of people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer is astonishing at first glance, accurate attendance figure from local residents gains more importance to verify whether such local popularity is actually tenable. In case that majority of attendance proves to come from out-comers, the enthusiasm from local residents could be in great doubt and the recommendation from developers might be rendered futile. Second, we have to ask the reason why jazz musicians choose to live in Monroe and whether their residence benefits local jazz popularity. If evidence show that they stay in Monore for an agreeable environment or cheaper house price, or that they choose Monore for their life after retirement, which leads to their alienation with jazz, we're unconvinced of their contribution to popularity of jazz in local. Third, the evaluation of developers' recommendation relies greatly on the competence of 'Jazz Nightly' not only during weeknight, but also on weekends. Therefore, if new evidence discloses that such radio program has absolutely dominance regardless of time duration and its opponents, we're disposed to believe that jazz is really popular in Monore.

Finally, despite the presence of all previous evidence, an more accurate evaluation of developers' suggestion need additional information. Specific evidence is needed to evaluate wether the nationwide survey could apply for the local situation in Monore as well; that is to say, whether there exists a mass of population who are willing to spend money on jazz entertainment. If the answer is positive, the recommendation from developers would gain more weights. Otherwise, if people tend to spend more time on jazz CD, concert and other forms of jazz entertainment than they do to jazz club, we would cast doubt for the high profitability of new club and their recommendation of course lose a solid ground.

To sum up, the evidence cited by developers are actually insufficient to make their statement incontrovertible. As a result, we need more evidence to better evaluate their conclusion.