Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of

the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become

extinct. Y et humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is

no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further ,

archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded,

but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot

have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor

must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author assumes that humans arrived in the Kaliko island, and the mammals on the island are on extinction. But he also assumes that there is no link between humans and mammals extinction. Therefore, he finally assumes that there must be climate change, due to which the mammals are on extinction. This decision made by without any substantial evidence seems to lack evidence so further scrutiny with substantial evidence to make his conclusion valid.

Firstly, the assumes that humans cannot have been a factor in the animal's extinction, because there is no evidence that humans had any significant contact with the mammals. To make this evidence true and valid, the author must have provided more information and evidence that makes the argument valid. So the author must study about the link between humans and mammals extinction.

Secondly, to cite this, the author provides the survey which the archaeologist had done, and found bones of fishes and does not find bones of mammals. So, he quickly reach on the conclusion. But there may be the possibility that the bones of mammals were washed out by the sea. There may be the chance that humans have crushed the bones of mammals. So, the author must seek these other factors due to which the archaeologists were unable to find the bones of mammals.

Furthermore, he also assumes that climate change must be the factor for mammals extinction. But he fails to provide evidence and factor like rising in sea level, global warming, etc, and simply reach into the conclusion which makes his conclusion valid. There may be other factors like diseases due to which the mammals have been extinction

So, to reach into the final conclusion the above factors must be considered.

In sum, the argument is rife with holes, and to make this argument valid the author must provide many pieces of evidence about the mammal's extinction, and human's role for extinction. The author must examine that the report made by the archaeologist is right or wrong. Therefore, if the author is able to examine all pieces of evidence provided above then the conclusion made by author is valid.