An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

It will become a terrible decided if the government of Tagus to promote this new type of millet. There are so many reasons in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the statement claims that vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus. This view have not any preposition. There are need more proof to ensure this country people are lack vitamin A. Even if they all need to supple vitamin A, does it has effect their life? There said that this organization has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A, can this ensure it has not lost other useful nutrient substance? Does it has any other side effects? Does this millet need longer planting time? These questions still need to solve.

Secondly, this short statement claims while seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. But they still don’t think about it: Is it more difficult to grow now variety of millet than normal millet? Will they be particularly fragile? Is the poverty of this country due to government corruption? If so, farmers will not be subsidies and they won’t buy expensive seeds.

Thirdly, the statement claims since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. Only part of people dare to try new type of millet and most of people dare not to try it. Because it is a poor country, most of people are poor and dare not venture to buy new thing. From their psychology, if it does not tasted good, then the money will be wasted. They do not want the possibility of wasting money.

Finally, the statement claims the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet. We should know anyone has freedom to choose. For poor farmers, the government’s promote is meaningless, they just need to eat enough. They do not realize they may lack vitamin A.

To sum up, it is not necessary to promote this new type of millet.