An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author here states that international development organization found deficiency of Vitamin A in the nation of Tagus and to rectify this they have engineered a new breed of millet which is high in Vitamin A. He also mentions that since the price of this new millet is higher, government would be providing subsidies for farming the new variety of millet.

Author substantially concentrates on using the new highly improvised millet instead of making people aware of other natural sources of vitamin. Even though it cost higher government is paying subsides to the former, I appreciate the initiative taken buy the government. on the other hand, government could simultaneously taken initiatives to motivate farmers to grow natural food which would be healthy for health.

Author says that government should do everything to promote this new type of millet. Instead, government could also promote other natural sources of Vitamin A which people of the country might have easy and readily access but might not be aware of its ingredients. If t6hey take such initiatives, government will also not lose in providing subsidies to the farmer. Also it would be a long term promotional affect. I mean that cultivation of the new millet can not be for a long time nor can people afford it always in day to day life. Even if they use it now and later again there are chances for the deficiency to occur again. Where as if people are educated regarding the natural sources of Vitamin A and its advantages, they will bring it in their natural diet and such scenario of deficiency will never happen again.

I appreciate all the initiatives taken by the government and the international development organization to look after the country and taking all steps possible. however, there are many other possible steps they can follow which would help cure the country for a long run. Country should be provided with a permanent solution instead of temporal one. The government might be trying to take advantage of the scenario and have an intention to make money at the cost of nation's health. I feel so because these organic millet are not good for health. there are many other natural sources which government did not intent to project to the people.

In the end, I would like to conclude that the government is doing a great job by looking after there nation and its people. they are doing everything possible to make them deficiency free. However, other points could be taken into consideration. This would ensure a healthy governance and healthy nation. It would be nice if government can do everything to make country Vitamin A deficient free rather than making sure millet usability.