An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In response to a Vitamin A deficiency among the people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, an international development organization has engineered a new breed of millet high in Vitamin A. Consequently, the government should do everything it can do to promote the new type of millet. The conclusion is based on the following assumptions: 1)Impoverished nation of Tagus "only" faces Vitamin A deficiency and the new type of millet contains all the nutrients and vitamins in the same amount as the regular millet, except Vitamin A. 2)No other alternative source of Vitamin A in form of vegetables, fruits, etc. exists. 3) New type of millet would be readily accepted by the denizens of Tagus.

Firstly, the conclusion stands on the fact that the residents of Tagus are facing "only" the deficiency of Vitamin A. Also, it considers that most of the residents are facing this problem. Because if only a small portion of the residents are facing the deficiency of Vitamin A, then the huge government funding on subsidizing the crop is not worth the time, money and efforts. Instead the problem could be dealt with alternate Vitamin A supplements orally in the form of artificial medicines. Also, if the government wants to change to the new type of millet they need to consider that the new crop has all the same nutrients and vitamin content except Vitamin A as the original crop. And if that is not the case, the people in the process of dealing with one problem would be infested with some other kind of malnutrition.

Secondly, the government considers that there is no other way to solve the problem of Vitamin A deficiency in the area, and the only way is to make any expensive shift from the ordinary millet to the new Vitamin A enriched millet. It may be possible that there are other sources of Vitamin A in the form of fruits and vegetables which may help to thwart this highly expensive shift. The government can look for alternatives and inform the government about their findings to solve the problem of Vitamin A deficiency.

Thirdly, the argument is based on the fact that the new type of millet would be readily accepted by the residents of the area. It doesn't consider that people who have been eating the same millet for generations together are quite likely to protest the change and sticking to the original millet. The government also fails to consider the fact the impact the irrigation of the new crop will have on the land.

In the end, the government needs to consider a lot of facts and have a sound clarity on the assumptions made to reach a conclusion that would be beneficial both to the government and the residents of the impoverished nation of Tagus. If the government feels that the new millet crop is the only option to deal with the prevalent problem, then they should definitely do everything to promote this new type of millet.