An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The statement says that the new type of millet will mitigate the problem of vitamin A deficiency of Tagus is no doubt if true will be good for the people. However, as the statement is drawn and put a period on an effective solution, I do not think is appropriate - there are several fallacious reasoning and some vital points are missing.

First of all, the author of the statement mentions that the cost of this millet is more but the farmers will be paid subsidies. Does this ensure that farmers are interested planting these seeds? I do not think so - if the farmers clearly do not see their benefits why do they plant it? The statement does not provide any further clarification regarding this. There may have some other obstacles that will hold back the farmers planting the seeds. Or say the farmers are interested, does this ensure they will be able to grow a productive corps? At that point, I think further clarification is needed, the author should have clarified that there are no other objects which might restrict the growth of the millet. One thing to clarify this claim is though millet is a staple food in Tagus, there is no surety that it will grow nice and easily every time this is planted.

Secondly, as the author claims that the international organization has engineered the new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A, the author does not discuss anything about how fast this could bring the significant effect. If the people of Tagus buy what the author claims there is not any certainty that the deficiency of vitamin A will be solved in a shorter period of time. There might have present other remedies, but the author does not even provide a modicum of information regarding that. In my sense, that should have been discussed thoroughly.

Thirdly, people of Tagus are not of the same age - blatantly, there are numerous people among which some are kids some are grown and some are the older people; the human body of all ages might not have the same cure. The pill that is curable for the kids might not work in the grown bodies. Alternatively, the pill for the grown bodies should contain more ingredients that might be insidious for the kids. The author at no point has discussed that. There should have some kind of indication about that.

In conclusion, to me, the author draws a biased conclusion regarding the international development organization, which have several flaws as I discussed in the above paras. If the author has identified these and provided further clarification, then we could say it is all right to mitigate the vitamin A deficiency of the people of Tagus.