An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

This argument recommends to promote the new type of millet by the goverment of Tagus to fight with the problem of Vitamin A deficiency. The recommendation premised upon the points that this new breed of millet is high in Vitamin A and since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, it will not take much effort to make it popularise among the masses. Also it provides a point that the higher cost of new type of seeds will be compensated in terms of subsidy to farmers. Though as a whole the recommendations seems to be solid, analyzing a little deeper tells us that it is flawed owing to some of the assumption it makes and for which there has been no proper explanations.

First of all, it mentions about the higher cost of the seeds will be compensated by providing subsidy for farming. But it does not give any concrete figure of how higher the cost of seeds will be than the earlier breeds and how much subsidy must be given to compensate that. Because if the cost is much higher than the previous one, then government might not give so much subsidy so as to motivate the farmers to farm the breed. And in case, the amount of subsidy does not compensate the higher cost, farmers will not be interested to opt for this breed. Also, if the cost is much higher, can there be other ways to battle Vitamin A which will be less costlier than the new breed of Millet.

Secondly the recommendation suggest that the staple food is millet. But it fails to suggest some of the statistics. Like how much percentage of the demographic has millet as their primary staple food, and what other foods than millet, come in the preference of the staple food. What is the cost difference of millet and other staple foods in Tagus? What amount of increase in price of Millet will still keep it as the most preferred staple food?

Lastly, recommendation does not provide a strong idea about what can be the disadvantages of using the new breed of Millet. Whether, in the process of enginerring a new breed with higher Vitamin A, it has lost another Vitamin component which was naturally abundant in Millet. Or whether the engineering of new breed has passed all level of examinations and certifications required to be used as a primary staple food?

Unless and untill all these questions are essentially analyzed, the recommendation can not be termed as full-proof. Rather than covering just the holistic aspects of introducing the new breed, the recommendation must consider all the tiny small aspects which can go wrong in the process of promoting the new breed. Since its the matter of health the recommendation must be as objective as it can be.