An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The above argument states that in response to the deficiency of Vitamin A in the impoverished nation of Tagus, a new breed of millet has been designed by an international development organization. The cost of this millet will be higher and the farmers are to be provided subsidy for growing them. The argument is talking about a very expensive venture which would be difficult for the impoverished nation like Tagus and hence is not a good idea at this stage.There are several obstacles in the path of success of this argument. All of them has to be dealt with in order to achieve the desired result.

Firstly, the argument itself is describing Tagus as a poor nation. the cost of this genetically engineered millet is higher and hence there is a good chance that a large part of the population may not be able to afford it. In such situation, the problem would remain the same. Yes, there may be a few people get benefited by this change but the majority would remain unattended. even providing subsidy to the farmers would be a great challenge for a nation which is already poor.

Secondly, the argument is unable to provide enough evidence of the efficiency of this new breed in curing the Vitamin A deficiency. If the said breed is only able to make small changes, it is totally not worth all such efforts. It is very important to observe the extent of results this engineered millet can promise before making any decisions of executing the proposal.The country of Tagus, already being poor cannot afford to experiment when so much money is involved.

At last, there is no mention of the farming methods of this new breed. It is possible that this breed may require more water for irrigation. If there is no proper facility for this, the idea would be a complete fiasco both for government and the farmers. Also, the type of fertilizers required is not not provided in the argument. It is possible that this breed requires some artificial fertilizers which can pollute the environment of Tagus and then, instead of getting desired results, the people of the nation would be facing a totally new and severe problem. It is essential for the organization to provide all such details. Without them, it would be imprudent to make any recommendations for this proposal.

In conclusion, it can only be said that the argument, though alluring, is unable to provide necessary details regarding the efficacy of the new breed, requirements related to its cultivation and its impact on the environment.A complete study and report on the above mentioned issue is required. Without any such information, it would not be wise to recommend the proposal as the chances of getting desired results are dubious at the moment.