An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A.While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

Like many indigent population, people of Tagus is currently suffering from vitamin A deficiency. An international development organization has engineered a solution and the author argues in favor of promoting that solution. The argument presented by the author contains some flawed assumptions and reasonings, which needs to be clarified to make the recommendation cogent.

Firstly, the author mentions that the new millet developed by international development organization is high in vitamin A. But the quantification is not provided. The difference between the level of vitamin A in the new breed and current breed might be very small and unable to mitigate the vitamin deficiency among people of Tagus. Also, the stated argument fails to present any data regarding if there is any side effects of the new breed. If there is no study performed on the side effects of new breed, it can cause more harm than good for the people. To make the argument strong, the author need to provide more information about these issues.

In addition to the health issue, economic condition of Tagus needs in depth consideration. Tagus is already an impoverished country. Do they have the ability to subsidize the farming of the new variety of millet? What if, introducing this higher cost millet breed make the economy of the country imballanced which needs to address other priority issues? These are not discussed in the excerpt given. An accurate and detailed cost benefit study needs to be done before taking the decision of promoting the new type of millet by the government.

The argument is weakened by not only by economic issue but also another flawed assumption by the author. It is assumed that there is practically no difference between new breed of millet and current millet; people are like to eat the new breed once introduced. The new breed of millet might differ in taste and hence people might reject this alternatives. Then the aim to reduce the vitamin deficiency among people will not be possible by this recommendation.

Finally, there might be other source of vitamin A in Tagus which doesn't need this much amount of effort by government to promote. Was any research done to find the alternatives? Also, how the new breed of millet performs against those alternatives? This questions must be answered with corroboration if the author wants to strengthen his recommendation.

While the aim by the international organization in undoubtedly beneficial to the people of Tagus, the author needs to provide more evidence to strengthen his position of promoting this new breeds of millet. Only then, we would be able to evaluate if the recommendations is like have predicted result in the life of people of Tagus.