An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument states the solution given by the international development organization regarding the deficiency of Vitamin A among the people of impoverished nation, Tagus. It introduces a new type of millet which can fill this Vitamin A gap. Also, so as to support farmers, according to the statement, subsidies will be given to them. And lastly, the organization suggests that to combat Vitamin A deficiency, the government should do everything to promote this new type of millet. However, the author premises regarding the argument comprises certain flaws that are not supported in the statement.

Firstly, according to the statement, the farmers will be supported by providing them subsidies so as to plant these new breed of millet, which is high in Vitamin A. However, certain questions are not cogently answered by the author. Like, What if the cost of planting is more than the provided subsidies? In this case, the farmers will have to pay from their pockets for planting these new subsidies and thus, might affect a farmer's financial accumulation. Also, what if, even after giving subsidies, the land which the farmer owns does not support the new seed of millet? In this scenario, it might affect affect both the farmers as well as organization. As, the subsidies will go to vain and farmers will not be able to make any crop. Hence, these problematic situations should be kept in mind.

Secondly, it is assumed that since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. But, on what basis this conclusion is made. Who knows the taste or texture of new seed of millet? What if people don't find its taste appealing? Also, how one can assume that people will adopt this new seed just because their staple food is millet? Thus, the premise and assumption on which this conclusion is based upon, are not persuasive.

Finally, the author states that the government should provide extra support. But, what will be the consequence on other matters, if the government will do everything for this new millet. Is, to combat the deficiency of Vitamin A, the only problem in the nation? In might be possible that there exists other food in the market which can combat this situations. In such case, doing everything to promote the new seed of millet, might be a waste of resources.

To conclude, the argument is not solely fallacious. However, it could be supported by answering to the aforementioned questions. The government might conduct a study so as to get the knowledge about how many people have this deficiency? Are they happy with the new seed of millet? Are they ready to adopt them? This could make a more viable decision. Also, government could carry out certain researches so as to know whether there are some other food products that can counterattack this problem. These measures could help to understand the complete vision regarding the situation.