An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

In this recommendation, an international development organization has helped engineer a millet that can possibly solve the vitamin A deficiency amongst the impoverished people of Tagus, and it is pertinent that the government of Tagus take upon the task to promote the consumption of this new kind of millet to combat the vitamin A deficenecy. This recommendation is most likely a proposal pitched by a non governmental humanitarian organisation, interested in seeing improvement and change in the impoverished state of the people in Tagus. Though the proposal presents a noble idea and cause, there are many idealistic and unsupported assumptions made that undermine its feasibility.

Firstly, the recommendation states that the new breed of millet is high in vitamin A, hence it would solve vitamin A deficiency among people in Tagus. However, no tests or data is provided to prove that this new millet indeed would help in vitamin A deficiency. It simply assumes that vitamin A in this new millet species high in vitamin A would be absorbed and solve this problem effectively. Were human trials done to prove this? If the effect of the new millet is unknown, it cannot guarantee that the recommendation would eradicate the problem of vitamin A deficiency in Tagus.

Furthermore, the recommendation suggests that the government support this program by providing subsidies to farmers because seeds for this new type of millet would cost more. However, it fails to state how much subsidies. Will these subsidies enough to cover the increased cost of millet? If not, it seems improbable that farmers will be compelled to take on these millet, given their already impoverished circumstances. Even if they do, they would have to increase the price of selling this type of millet to the public. Given the choice of a more expensive and ordinarily prices millet, it is unlikely that the poorest of the poor in Tagus would consume the new engineered millet. This would defeat the whole purpose in helping the most impoverished in Tagus to eradicate their vitamin A deficiency.

Last but not the least, the last sentence in this recommendation brings about many debatable points. It states that to combat vitamin A deficiency 'the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet'. Is promoting this new millet the only way to fight vitamin A deficiency? Most importantly, should the government of Tagus do everything it can and prioritize this over other national concerns, such as economy and security? Are the other issues less important? In fact the problem of vitamin A deficiency stems from an impoverished populace. It is more pertinent that the economy be looked closely upon to lift the nation from poverty.

It undeniable that the recommendation was made out of goodwill with the well-intended goal of pulling the poverty-stricken populace from malnourishment. Nevertheless, it is unlikely the proposal will produce its intended effects if many of the pertinent questions with regards to feasibility are unanswered. To strengthen the recommendation, concrete and detailed plans regarding government budget and subsidies have to be put out. Furthermore, considering Tagus’ impoverished state, a multi-pronged approach with complementary policies can be considered to improve the well-being of the populace. Most importantly, more studies have to be done to prove that the millet indeed can help in solving vitamin A deficiency. With all these additional insights and careful thought, it will be no doubt a feasible and scrupulous proposal can be effected successfully.