An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be p

Several questions must be asked in order for the international development organisation's recommendation for the government of Tagus to promote a variety of millet rich in vitamin A to successfully yield the result of combatting vitamin A deficiencies. Considering the costliness of the new product it is essential to prove that this recommendation is well researched and based on sound logic. The following questions would likely bolster the logical validity of the recommendation.

First, the organisation needs to consider whether the new strain of millet that is higher in vitamin A is suitable to the climate of the nation of Tagus. While this is likely true as millet is already a staple food in Tagus, it is possible that the conditions in which the new breed of millet was engineered and harvested can not be replicated in the real environment of Tagus. It is likely that the biological engineers that created the new breed of millet carefully curated specific conditions for the new strain of millet to flourish in. For example, they may have watered the millet twice a day and had precisely 8 hours of artificial sunlight in the greenhouses where they were curated. These conditions would be impossible to replicate in Tagus, particularly when you account for how impoverished the nation is. Local farmers may be unable to access a clean water supply to curate the new strain of millet, which might fail as a crop as a result. The development organisation would need to test and prove that the new breed of millet could grow equally as well as the existing strain before recommending its adoption. If it could be grown equally as well as the existing variety then it is more likely that local farmers would adopt the new strain.

Second, the organisation would need to prove that in all other regards the new strain of millet is a fair substitute for the existing variety. This would involve testing factors like the taste, nutritional value and crop yield of the new product to show that it is a good replacement for the existing variety. For instance, if the new millet had less fibre and was less filling than the existing variety, it would be a poor substitute and should not be recommended given that the people of Tagus rely on millet as a staple food source.

Third, the organisation would need to answer the question of whether the subsidy for the seeds would fully compensate farmers. If the subsidy is insufficient to cover the cost of the new seeds and the existing variety was still cheaper, then it is extremely unlikely that the recommendation would be supported by the government of Tagus. Furthermore, it should be established whether the cost per crop yield was fully justified by the subsidy. If one seed of new millet only grew half as much seed as the original variety, the subsidy will need to account for this and would have to cover the entire cost of adopting the new variety.

Finally, the development organisation would need to provide an answer to the question of "does it matter if vitamin A levels are low in the nation of Tagus?" If the development organisation cannot illustrate why vitamin A is integral to reaching development goals then it is unlikely that the recommendation will be supported by the government and people of Tagus. This 'why factor' is extremely important in deciding whether the recommendation is likely to have a predicted result as it influences how likely the people of Tagus are to bother adapting to the new type of millet if there is no significant reason to do so.

If the development organisation can successfully answer the above questions it is more likely that they will have a positive reaction to their recommendation to introduce a new breed of vitamin A rich millet to address vitamin A deficiencies in the nation of Tagus. Without evidence to show that the development organisation has researched these questions, it is unlikely that their recommendation will garner significant results.