Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean

The argument concludes that by changing the children’s book section to a cafe, sales of the monarch books can be increased than before. Proclaimed this way the argument fails to acknowledge several key factors and manipulated facts by which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument depend on assumptions for which there is not clear evidence. However, the evidence stated in the argument reveals little credible support for the argument. Therefore the argument is weak and unconvincing.

Initially, the argument assumes that replacing the children’s book space with a cafe might increase the revenue. This is an assumption by replacing the children’s section the sales might go low, because the book store is well known for it’s reader friendly atmosphere there is a possibility that it can get disturbed due to the cafe. Argument would have been convincing if it was explicitly stated that how can the sales of the store increase by opening a cafe. In this digital world very few are left with the habit of going to store to read a book, this is a major factor to deal with in order to increase the revenue.

Secondly, the argument readily claims that sales of the children’s books are likely to decline. since, there is a decrease in the percentage of the population under age ten. This statement is again weak and do not have a strong evidence to stand on. The argument fails to explain the correlation between sales of the children’s books and the decline in the population. How can the decline in the population of the children can affect the sales?. If the argument was provided with evidence supporting his claim then he would have sounded better for the readers.

Finally, the argument claims that by replacing its children's books section with a cafe, Monarch Books can increase profits . This is a weak conclusion which do not have a evidence to defend.

However, the evidence stated in the argument reveals little credible support but it raises many questions that, how can the store make profits by replacing children's books section with a cafe?

Without giving a convincing answers for these questions one is left with an opinion that the authors claim is wishful rather than a substantial evidence.

In sum, the argument is weak, unconvincing and have no legs to stand on. If the argument was provided with clear evidence then it could have been more convincing.