"Last week, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

The author of the argument concludes that to restrict the water flow showers should be modified in all the buildings in the Sunnyside towers resulting in the increase of profits. To support this conclusion author cites various premises; readings of water usage reduction, less number of complaints and increase in profits of the people. At first sight these premises seem to bolster the argument but meticulous analysis shows otherwise. The reasons that lead to the failure of the argument are explained as following;

Firstly, the author stated that modified showers will reduce the water usage to one third. However, no supporting evidence has been given in favor of this. As the actual readings on the water usage before and after the modifications of showers are not given one cannot say that it will definitely reduce the water usage. This statement was totally biased, as there is the possibility that modification results may be completely opposite than expected. Thus on the basis of such statement one cannot say that we should go for modification of showers in all the houses.

Secondly, the author claimed that very few complaints have been reported. Since the modified showers has been just operated only in three houses. Which is a very small number to be encountered, as there may be the possibility that people had used those modified showers only for a short period of time in the long run there are the chances that further problems might occur. And there are chances that people hadn't noticed the problems.

Thirdly, the author assumes that by operating modified showers will result in profits for corporation as corporation pays bill for water usage. But this is certainly not true, as it may possible that introduction of the modified showers may be a costlier process as no information about their operating cost is provided. There is the probability that in long run their maintaining cost may be more rather than paying water bills, which results in loss. Thus this premise weakens the argument.

At the end, the author's argument fails to hold the ground due to unwarranted assumptions. The author must have provide some additional information like the reading of water usage in modified showers, operating and maintenance cost of these showers and some more. Due to lack information provided and based on unwarranted assumptions the author's argument proved to be fallacious.