"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men

The argument claims that we should invest our resources in unmanned space flights. To bolster the conclusion, the author makes assumptions comparing manned an unmanned space flight. Though argument seems persuasive at the first glance, after keen observation it infers that the conclusion of the statement relies on assumptions for which there is not clear evidence. Hence, the argument is weak and has several flaws.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that manned space flight is costly and dangerous compared to unmanned space flight. There is not statistical evidence provided for the assumption made. For instance, the cost of automation for the unmanned space flight may exceed the cost estimated by the author. The argument could have been more cogent if the reference for the assumption is explicitly provided in the argument.

Secondly, the argument claims that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending humans into space. The terminology used in the statement is a bit misleading - " a great deal" implies more useful information or it could mean abundant information. The author fails to state what useful information is gathered by unmanned space flights which seriously undermined the manned space flights in the author's perspective. If the argument had provided the comparisons between the manned and unmanned space flights gathered information, then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

Thirdly, the author draws the prior assumption stating that recent series of unmanned space flights are successful in gathering a great deal of information. Different space missions have different motives to be achieved. Unmanned space flight could be safe but cannot gather all the information which is gather by manned space flights. Some space stations require human presence to administrate the system. The argument fails to provide logical reason between unmanned space probes and satellites and manned space flights.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the prior mentioned reasons and is therefore unconvincing. It could be more persuasive if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts. Without this information, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.