“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The editors argument that the manned space flight should be preferred over manned space flight because of lower cost and the lesser risk factor is flawed. As he has drawn his argument based on many hidden assumptions which, if are untrue will seriously affect the conclusion. Let us discuss them in detail and study how those assumptions will affect the given argument.

The editor has stated that the manned space flight is costly but he has not specifically mentioned the exact cost of the flight. He has also stated that the unmanned space flight costs lesser compared to manned space flight but he failed to specify that on what basis the cost is determined. It might be possible the unmanned space flight might have high maintenance cost. Thus if the maintenance cost is very high for unmanned space flight it might result in more money being spent after the flight had taken off.

The author had also failed to compare the overall performance of the both the space flights. It might be possible that the information obtained from the unmanned space flight is comparatively less accurate than manned space flight. Thus if such is the case then the investment in unmanned space flight becomes skeptical. The author also has not mentioned about the durability of the manned flight and have assumed that it is proportionate with the manned space flight.

However, the editor also strengthens his argument by mentioning about the safety factor associated with both the flights. We have seen many accidents occurring in the past where several astronauts have sacrificed their life for the development in the field of science. Thus, an unmanned space flight will be less risky.

The argument made by the editor could have been strengthened by adding more information and statistics about the overall cost of both the flights and the reliability and durability of the unmanned flight. As it stands, however, the argument is flawed for the reasons indicated.