Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.

The writer argues that unmanned space flight is more effective than sending men to space because it is productive, cost effective and less risky. However, the writer does not provide sufficient information to permit a proper evaluation of the argument's reasoning. Accordingly, the argument is not entirely logically convincing because it relies on wrong assumptions. Below are three major deficiencies that enfeeble the argument.

Firstly, the writer assumes that it is risky to send men to space. However, he does not back this up with relevant evidence or statistics that show how dangerous it is for humans to engage in space flights. It could have been convincing if the writer had presented a list of fatal space accidents. In other words, the writer could have emphasized his assumption by providing the findings of a comparative study of the risks involved in space flights when men are sent to space and when no humans are sent. In the absence of such information, the assumption that manned space activity is risky does not appear to very cogent.

Secondly, the writer provides no evidence to the claim that unmanned space flights are cheaper. There is no financial estimate of the cost of automated space flight in comparison with manned space flights. Thus, there cannot be any certainty about the cost effectiveness of unmanned space activity. Furthermore, manufacturing automated alternatives to humans in space flights could be very costly and thus defeat the purpose of cost-effectiveness that the author advocates. In addition, it costs money to monitor these automated space flights.

Thirdly, the author suggests that a great deal of information could be gathered thanks to unmanned space flight. Nonetheless, the author omits a crucial detail: accuracy and relevancy of information. Automated space flights might be useful in collecting an impressive amount of information, but how much of this information is really useful and correct? In other words, there will always be a need for humans to interpret data, analyze the findings and determine which information is relevant and which one is extraneous. In fact, automated machines can outperform humans quantitatively but qualitatively, humans will always be more advantageous.

In conclusion, the argument that unmanned space flights are a better option than sending men to space is not completely sound. The author does provide compelling evidence to back his claim. The argument could have been strengthened if the author used specific examples of the risk and cost factors involved in manned space flights. In the absence of such primordial data, the argument remains weak.