The market for the luxury-good industry is on the decline. Recent reports show that a higher unemployment rate, coupled with a customers fears, has decreased the amount of money the average household spends on both essential and nonessential items, but especially on nonessential items. Since luxury goods are by nature, nonessential, this market will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate, and luxury retails should focus their attention to lower-priced markets.

At the first glance, the argument that luxury retails should focus their attention to lower price markets as result of economical decline, sounds plausible. However, with a careful observation, the argument shows certain flaws in crucial assumptions which decrease the argument's strength.

First of all, according to the reports, a higher unemployment rate and customers fear have caused decrease in sale of luxury goods. Important question is what kind of reports are presented? How many people and of what age and profession are included in statistics? The argument assumes the sample is representative. However, if the reports show a local trend, related to a small community, it does not mean that the whole country is in the same condition. Report made in a rural area or in the poorest regions of a country would not show the real picture.

Secondly, in a economic crisis, a lower class has the hardest time dealing with all consequences. Low class is characterized by population with a low level of education, which seeks seasonal and physical works. If a company has to reduce a number of employees, cuts are going to be made on the workers with the worst educational background. Skilful workers with high educational level and experience would be preserved. Experts are a valuable source for a company and they would not lose their jobs, also they are the part of a society which usually buy luxury goods. Preserving their jobs, they would not really feel the crisis, therefore, they would still buy expensive good in the same amount they used to buy them.

In relation to the previous point, the low class workers usually do not buy expensive things. Majorly, their income serves for buying essential items. Hence, the idea that luxury retails should focus on lower price markets would not have an effect. In addition, there is a question if a high class would like to buy luxury goods which are cheap and do not poses quality which they used to.

Further on, the main assumption is the decline in the market is caused by an economic crisis. However, there might be some other reasons. The unlimited possibilities can be made here. The marked could be saturated with same goods, there could be another fashion trend, different activist has been fighting against fur and objects made from rare wood and so on.

In conclusion, the argument is not convincing. The evidence to support the conclusion that luxury retails should focus on lower-price markets due to economical decline and unemployment, do little to prove that conclusion. In order to strength the argument, the writer has to improve his evidence. On the first place, the report has to show the state in the whole country and to prove that all levels of a society are severely affected by the crisis.