The market for the luxury-goods industry is on the decline. Recent reports show that a higher unemployment rate, coupled with consumer fears, has decreased the amount of money the average household spends on both essential and nonessential items, but especially on nonessential items. Since luxury goods are, by nature, nonessential, this market will be the first to decrease in the present economic climate, and luxury retailers should refocus their attention to lower-priced markets.

The argument that luxury retailers should refocus their attention to lower-priced markets is not completely sound, since it makes certain unwarranted assumptions.

First, the argument assumes an analogy that luxury goods are non-essential items. This assumption is invalid since some of luxury goods such as dish washing machine, air conditioner, television etc. are essential items for a household and not non-essential items.

Further, the argument assumes a causal relationship between higher employment rates coupled with consumer fear and reduced spending on non-essential items. However, the reduced spending on non-essential items could be due other factors such as change in the lifestyle of the people, government policies on non-essential items such as taxed incurred and increased prices of non-essential items.

Finally, the argument is based on reports whose reliability and representativeness is not presented. The reports could be unreliable due to substandard methods employed in the collection of the data and incorrect information given by respondents. Also, the reports could be based on samples which may not be representative of the entire consumer market.

Thus, the argument is not completely logically convincing. The evidence in support of the conclusion that high unemployment rate, coupled with consumer fear has reduced the spending on non-essential items does little to prove that conclusion, since it does not address the assumptions already raised. Ultimately, the argument might have been strengthened if the author could have shown that that there is no reason other than high unemployment rate coupled with consumer fear for the reduced spending on luxury goods, that the reports are authentic and representative of the entire consumer market and based his contention on facts upon luxury goods than non-essential goods.