Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium—substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

The author claims here that milk and dairy products do not prevent the osteoporosis but increase the risk of osteoporosis. The argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. To justify this conclusion author mentions a study that results says that on long term the people who consumes dairy product and milk have seen to be higher rate of fracture than those who didn't. However careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's claim. Hence the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, argument readily assumes that milk and dairy product is maintaining and building of bones because its rich in vitamin-D. This is nearly an assumption made without solid ground. For example, How vitamin-D is helpful in building bone?; and on what age group result is proved?. Hence the argument would be more convincing if it explicitly stated answer of above questions.

The argument readily claims that people who consistently consumed milk and dairy product have seen to be have higher rate of bone fracture. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any correct correlation between consumer of dairy product and having higher rate of bone fracture. The argument above stated the cause of osteoporosis that include both environmental and genetic factors. So, this result of higher bone fracture is effect of milk products or of it other factors. If the argument have provided this result with certain more information about the study then it would have been lot more convincing to readers.

Finally, the author states that bone fracture is symptoms of osteoporosis so milk must have increased the risk of it. However it provide little support for the author's conclusion in several critical respects, and raises skeptical questions. For example, bone fracture can be the symptoms of external injury, also bone fracture can be due to effect of other drugs people have take it. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claim made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive thinking.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey of milk product and its effect on osteoporosis or reasons behind the osteoporosis. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about the osteoporosis and the effect of consuming milk and dairy product.