Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

When deciding on where to open up its next franchise store, Nature’s Way has chosen Plainsville because of its healthy residents that purchase running shoes and exercise clothing along with holding gym memberships at the local health club. The argument made by the author warrants a number of unstated assumptions that could be detrimental to the future of Nature’s Way if it were to open a store in Plainsville.

Firstly, the author assumes that the residents of Plainsville lead healthy lives due to the increased sales of running shoes and exercise clothing at local merchant stores and thus Nature’s Way would be most profitable in such an area. What is to not say that residents from other surrounding towns are not traveling to Plainsville to purchase their exercise gear because the Plainsville store has better deals? Plainsville residents could also be purchasing this gear but instead of wearing it for the purchase of exercise, wear it for the purpose of comfort.

Not only does Nature’s Way make the assumption that Plainsville would be a profitable area due to the all-time highs of exercise gear being but, but also based on the local health club having the most members it has ever had. The author states that the local health club has more members than ever but does this take into account the residents who have memberships but do not use it? Also, the author states that the training and aerobic classes are always full but does this take into account health club members that are not from Plainsville?

Lastly, the author states that the Plainsville schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program but what the author could be missing is the fact that the children may not want to continue on with a healthy lifestyle as they grow up. They also may only be in this program since it is required for them to be. Do the schoolchildren and their parents carry on the information taught at this program and incorporate it into their lifestyles?

All in all, the author has directly stated many positives of why Nature’s Way should build a franchise in Plainsville but there are many flaws in the argument that could hurt Nature’s Way company if they were to open up a store in this town. More research should be conducted, such as resident surveys, to see if Nature’s Way would truly succeed in this type of environment.