At nearby Green Mountain College, which has more business courses and more job counselors than does Mira Vista College, 90 percent of last year's graduating seniors had job offers from prospective employers. But at Mira Vista College last year, only 70 percent of the seniors who informed the placement office that they would be seeking employment had found full-time jobs within three months after graduation, and only half of these graduates were employed in their major field of study. To help Mira Vista's graduates find employment, we must offer more courses in business and computer technology and hire additional job counselors to help students with their resume's and interviewing skills

The author in the above argument concludes that Mira Vista college should offer more business and computer courses and hire job counsellors to achieve a high employability rate like in the case of Green Mountain college. To support this conclusion the authors provides evidence about the higher employability rate in Green Mountain College than Mira Vista College, the reason citied by the author for this deviation is due to the fact that Green mountain college had more business courses and more job counsellors than mira vista college. Also the seniors who were employed were given a job only three months after their graduation and half of them were not employed in their major field of study. The evidences citied are not substantial enough to support the argument and are slightly flawed and incomplete.

The author assumes that more courses in business and more job counsellors contributed to the increase in the number of employed seniors of Green Mountain College. The assumption stated is flawed as there is no direct consequence of the job counsellors on the employability rather it maybe due to high reputation of the college or its repute of producing high performance employers that drove the companies to employ a larger chunk than Mira Vista College. Also it might be the case that the job offered could have not been related to extra business courses offered.

Further the author assumes that 90 percent of the students employed of Green Mountain College are far greater than the 70 percent employed of that of Mira Vista College. Firstly, there is no mention about the number of students in each college it could be the case that the former had about 1000 students while the latter might have had 2000 students under them, if that is the case the assumption would be flawed. Secondly, there is no mention about the company offered to the students and its salary or employee benefits. It might be the case that students of Mira college got into far more prestigious companies than Green mountain college.

Lastly, the author assumes that employment offered to half of the students was not related to their field of study and also that the students were given jobs only three months after graduation. Half of the students in this case maybe wanted a job not related to their field of study or they might have got higher pay package in that field , which they might have preferred. Also there is no mention about the field of jobs given to students of Green Mountain College nor the duration up to which they have to wait until they get fully employed.

The argument could have strengthen by providing more data on jobs offered to students as result of the courses or counsellors , also data on the number of students in each college should have provided for an accurate analysis. There should also been a survey about the field of job which the students of both the colleges prefer to take. These few alterations would have helped strengthen the argument of the author.