One increasingly popular policy for promoting renewable energy is a feed-in tariff. Under such a policy, investors on any scale, from large corporations to individual homeowners, produce their own energy from solar panels installed on their property. Elec

At the first glance, the argument looks logical based on the information stated but on careful analysis, one could easily find it rife of assumptions. These assumptions dictate the validity of the argument and are thus crucial.

The argument is based on the efficacy of the renewable sources, however it is not stated where do these resources stand as compared to conventional resources of energy. Assuming they are efficient does not justify the advice offered in the conclusion. It may be true that the renewable sources are less efficient as compared to the alternatives and thus it may not be feasible for the investors to adopt them. If this is true, this would significantly weaken the argument. On the contrary, if it is untrue then the argument stands strong.

Additionally, author does not provide information on the time period that would be necessary for the renewable sources to become profitable for the investors. This ambiguity in the information exposes another hole in the argument. If the time period is short and feasible enough for the electricity companies then which would enable investors to achieve profitability sooner. If this assumption in not true, the argument loses its meaning.Moreover, there is no evidence presented to buttress the claim that these resources are stable. There are no metrics posited that prove this assumption. Is the energy tapping from these resources more stable than those from conventional ones? If the answer is yes, it fortifies the author's argument otherwise this would indicate another fallacy in the argument. It may be true, they are not as stable as they are required to be to ensure the feasibility and profitability in long run. If this is the case, the argument is further weakened.

Lastly, author has assumed the research indicating the feed-in tariff plan to be exceptionally effective. The reliability of the research is not supported with the data. It may be a fabricated one to misguide the investors to invest in renewable resources. If true, this would cast serious doubts on the validity of the argument. On the other hand, if this research is conducted fairly by unbiased organization and the data collected in research justifies the effectiveness of the resources, then the argument is strengthened.

Thus, the information on the efficacy, stability , nature of contracts with electricity companies and reliability of the research is imperative to evaluate the argument correctly. If the assumptions are in favor of the argument as discussed, then the argument becomes infallible, otherwise it stays ill-founded and flawed.