“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped from decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

In a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview it appeared that to lessen the serious unemployment problem in their town, they should encourage Autotech company to build its automobile manufacturing plant in their area. It is asserted by the Mayor that the Hillview landfill is a perfect site for this plant which has not been developed since decades. Moreover, this plant would put thousands of Hillview residents to work who were left unemployed after Computech Computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. So, the Mayor is asking City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract this company and by offering significant tax incentives to their town and making it attractive for this giant car company. However, this argument ultimately fails as it suffers from several unanswered questions.

As, the Mayor asserted that this company would alleviate the unemployment caused after Computech Computer software abandoned its facility last year. But the question that arises is that will all the unemployed people of Computech company get job in this Automobile Company. Also it needs to be looked at that if the person was Software Engineer in Computech Company would he have the same job in this automobile company too. Moreover, it is also not asserted by the Mayor that would the unemployed people get the same Salaries and incentives that they were provided by Computech company. However, the site which Mayor have suggested is the Hillview landfill area where all the wastes from the city of Hillview would have been dumped. So it might be possible that no other company would have come up with the plan to build their buildings in that area. It is also to be looked into that were would be the waste dumped if the Hillview landfill is been given to the Autotech Car company for its development.

Moreover, the Mayor have also asked the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract this company and to offer grants and significant tax incentives to make their town attractive. So, it might happened that the Mayor might have asked for significantly high incentives from the City Council which might be also beneficial for his well-being. In this memo it is also not given that how would they make the city attractive and why did the Computech Company abandoned its national facility last year to this town. So, these are the questions which need to be answered for the argument recommended by the Mayor.

So, I would like to conclude that there are various fallacies and points put forward by the Mayor to attract the new Automobile car company but they seem substantially lacking the ideas and should be properly recommended.