"Over 80 percent of the respondents to a recent survey indicated a desire to reduce their intake of foods containing fats and cholesterol, and today low-fat products abound in many food stores. Since many of the food products currently marketed by Old Dairy Industries are high in fat and cholesterol, the company's sales are likely to diminish greatly and company profits will no doubt decrease. We therefore advise Old Dairy stockholders to sell their shares, and other investors not to purchase stock in this company."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

Merely based on groundless assumption and doubtful evidence, the arguer arbitrary draws a conclusion that the Batavia government should make a regulation to retail the milk prices in order to ensure fair prices for consumers. To make it substantiate, the arguer points out that the local Excello Food Market has increased the prices. Moreover, the arguer demonstrates that the farmers have increased supply of milk due to the increasing number of farms. Additionally, the arguer illustrates that farmers will have excessive profits. Plausible as it is, a further introspection reveals that it contains several logic flaws.

First, the argument assumes that the nationwide statistics of milk price is equal to local market's. Yet it might not be the case, for variety of possible reasons. Perhaps due to the increasing needs for milk in this area, the price of milk increased significantly However the overall price of milk remains normal or even lower than before because of the increased supply of milk.

Second, the arguer fails to establish a casual relation between the farms and the supply of milk. It is highly possible that the increasing number of farms do not contributes to the increase supply of milk. For example, many farms turn to feed other animals like the chicken and pig. Therefore, the more farms do not means more supply of milk.

Third, the profit is a factor relating not only revenue but also cost. It is entirely possible that the cost of producing milk is higher than before which means it is reasonable to increase the price of the milk in order to maintain the same profit as before. Thus, if the government carry out the regulation to limit the price it may lead a decrease in profits and damage the framers' motivation to produce milk which will obviously make the problem worse.